I’ve been here before, I think
This is no dream, no deja vu
Stuck in a repeating pattern
Sadly, I am wide awake

This is no dream, no deja vu
Inevitably pulled apart
Sadly, I am wide awake
No one wins, either way I choose

Inevitably pulled apart
Thoughts go one way, I the other
No one wins, either way I choose
Who began this tug-of-war?

Thoughts go one way, I the other
Am I the only one who sees it?
Who began this tug-of-war?
I wonder how it is I am the rope

Am I the only one who sees it?
We are, all three, participants
I wonder how it is I am the rope
I cannot even hold myself together

We are, all three, participants
Perhaps I am a combatant, too?
I cannot even hold myself together
None of what we’re fighting for is clear

Perhaps I am a combatant, too
I don’t know how to fight this war
None of what we’re fighting for is clear
Has anything I’ve tried brought peace?

I don’t know how to fight this war
I think I broke the ceasefire agreement
Has anything I’ve tried brought peace?
I have no new tricks up my sleeve

I think I broke the ceasefire agreement
Somehow we are back to where we were
I have no new tricks up my sleeve
Variations on a Theme without an end

Somehow we are back to where we were
Stuck in a repeating pattern
Variations on a Theme without an end
I’ve been here before, I think

5-6-2010

