We talk about one side of a coin or another, but I rarely think about the coin itself–the coin that manages to be both at the same time (it is the coin, after all!). A link from a link from an e-mail from a friend (if that’s not complicated, I don’t know what is) speaks quite eloquently to the difficulty of living life as the coin itself: keeping one’s eyes open to the truth yet keeping one’s heart open to others (and to God). I have felt that same difficulty myself, and Oswald Chambers in My Utmost for His Highest comments on the difficulty of being that coin when he says, “Jesus Christ never trusted human nature, yet He was never cynical, never suspicious, because He trusted absolutely in what He could do for human nature” (Utmost June 24th). In another place, he reiterates that Christ trusted in the transforming power of God’s grace in a life. I suppose that it is this grace which helps us to be a coin and not just one side of it. But I know that I do not really know how it works. I am cynical and suspicious sometimes; I am clueless and naive at other times. But I truly have seen God’s power in my life bringing those sides into better balance. Maybe someday . . .

