A thought from my conversations with God this week.

Matthew 19:3-12

v. 3 "Is it lawful for a man to put away his wife for every cause?"

This particular recording of Jesus and the Pharisees' talk about divorce comes shortly after Peter's questions about forgiveness and the parable Jesus told of the servant who had been forgiven much yet would not forgive another servant even a little. The question the Pharisees ask seems to connect back to that parable because the Pharisees wanted divorce rather than having to forgive their wives for their imperfections.

v. 8 "He [Jesus] saith unto them, 'Moses because of the hardness of your hearts suffered you to put away your wives: but from the beginning it was not so.'"

They were asking about the law, a law which permitted divorce. Jesus took them back to the original plan before the law was given: a "one flesh" relationship between husband and wife means a commitment and means that they would have to forgive each other. Hardness of heart: lack of forgiveness leads to disposable relationships and to other sins, too, at times.

God, I see that very same hardness in my own heart, too—maintaining right relationships is difficult at times, and so often I'm ready to throw in the towel. You have been working on this in my heart, and I give myself to You to continue this work in me. Thank You for Your commitment to me. You do not give up on me; instead, You extend mercy, grace, and love. Please continue to work out the hard places to make my heart alive, not scarred and hard.

Please feel free to leave your own tidbit of what God said to you this week.

