April 23, 2006
San Francisco Airport
3 pm

“Excuse me . . . uh . . . Is this the lost and found department? I think I’ve lost something.”
”Yes, ma’am, you’ve come to the right place. How can I help you?”
”Um . . . I was wondering . . . uh . . . I seem to have misplaced my dream. Have you found any lost dreams?”
“Well, we don’t get many requests for lost dreams, ma’am, but I think we might have some around here. Describe your particular dream to me, and I’ll see if perhaps someone has turned it in already.”
“That’s the problem: I don’t remember what it looks like! And it looks so different now from what it used to look like that I’m not sure I’d recognize it if I saw it. I don’t know. Maybe I would. Could you bring out the dreams that have been turned in so I can see if maybe one of them is mine?”
“Sure . . . well . . . uh . . . I guess that might be ok . . . except that it’s sorta against the rules. And now that I think about it, the rules do have a good point—what if you walked off with someone else’s dream? I’m sorry ma’am, but unless you can describe your dream to me, I really can’t help you. Maybe one of your friends or family can help you remember what your dream looked like.”
Sigh “Maybe. OK. Thank you for your help, sir.”

Where does one go to find a lost dream? As I prepare to go job hunting again, I find myself wondering, “what was it that I wanted to do with my life? do I really want it still? or have I somehow misplaced my dream? What did my future use to look like again?”

I think Dad was sensing that dilemma when we talked on the way to the airport this afternoon, and I’m almost more sad for his sadness for me than I am about feeling like I’ve lost my dream. Maybe my dream wasn’t the permanent kind or maybe I’m just tired. I don’t know.

”So where do I go to find a lost dream?” I muse.

And, as if in answer, a verse comes to mind. And when I hear its message, I know that it is the answer:
II Timothy 1:12
Nevertheless I am not ashamed, for I know Whom I have believed and am persuaded that He is able to keep that which I have committed unto Him against that day.

”That which I have committed”—like a deposit. Over the years, time and time again, I have deposited my dreams into God’s hands. And because He never changes, because He is never caught off-guard, because He is faithful, I know that He still holds my dreams in His strong and gentle hands. They are safe and I am safe. I may have forgotten them, but He hasn’t. They may be in the process of changing, but He is always the same. And the one dream that underlies all of my dreams has not changed: “that I may know Him.” And knowing Him is the dream that makes all other dreams truly possible.

So, where do I go to find a lost dream? I have my answer: I don’t have to look for it—it’s not lost. It’s simply been deposited in my Heavenly Father’s hands, and He will give it back to me when the time is right and I am ready to pursue it again.

In the meantime, Father, help me to know You and trust You more.

